Hidden Traps

I float on the currents,

Oblivious to the danger.

How can I be so blind

From this height?

Shouldn’t I be able to see clearly?

And then it happens,

I hit an invisible wall.

With no more lift,

My wings fail

And I find myself face first in the dirt.

Sometimes

I recognize my situation,

Jump up,

Shake my head,

And again take to the skies.

Sometimes

The shadow comes over my heart

And I look at the apparent source

Of my problem.

I stomp around,

Forgetting I even have wings.

If I stop for just a moment

And look inward,

I see what really happened.

The hidden trap was actually within.

Only then can I once again look up,

Spread my wings

And rise.

Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves (Philippian 2:3, ESV).

Leave a Reply

