Vision Test

I undergo a vision test

Every day.

Today

I was reminded of that fact.

As I learned that

Babies in overseas orphanages

Often don’t cry

Because they’ve learned

No-one responds,

My tears began to flow.

I often fly high

But fail to see

That kind of detail.

The tears continued

When I heard

A mother’s desperate cry

As the pastor

Read her letter

Pleading for her son,

An addict

Not yet ready

To seek help.

So,

From now on,

As I soar,

Enjoying the beauty all around,

May I always be willing

To see

Where I can help,

Whether by prayer alone

Or by action

Motivated and sustained by prayer.

For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself” (Galatians 5:14, ESV).

Leave a Reply

