Soar and Serve

Yeah. Yeah.

Sure.  Sure.

We’ve all had those moments.

We verbally agree,

Even give mental assent.

But there’s no heart behind it.

The new-found knowledge

Gives no lift to our wings.

Then,

There are those Ah ha! moments,

When a truth becomes our truth.

That happened to me recently.

I’d heard before that,

From a biblical perspective,

Service equals worship.

At that point,

Something just didn’t click.

However,

When I heard it this time,

The proverbial lightbulb went on.

Too often I’ve seen

The things I love to do

As giving me wings

And the things I have to do

Keeping me grounded (but not in the good way).

They required plodding along,

Wings tucked at my sides.

Now,

The day-to-day

Has taken on a whole new perspective,

I can

Soar and Serve

At the same time.

This changes everything!

Thank you to NJ Lindquist for her insights.

And he sat down and called the twelve. And he said to them, “If anyone would be first, he must be last of all and servant of all” (Mark 9:35, ESV).

Leave a Reply

