Anxious for Nothing

My mind races,

My heart races,

Everything crowds in.

No time to breathe.

No time to think.

Fly?

Of course I have to fly

From one thing to the next.

But that’s not the kind of flight

That allows my heart to sing,

My mind to all but explode with new possibilities.

It’s the kind of flight where,

Instead of soaring on the currents,

I feel as if I’m flying into a hurricane.

Sure I’m airborne,

But I’m not making headway.

In fact,

I’m being pushed farther and farther

From my destination.

And then,

I breathe.

I remember I am to be

Anxious for nothing.

I still have  “a million”

Things to do.

But I remember

I can only do one at a time.

Maybe,

Just maybe,

I have to set my sights

On a goal

Just a little closer.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:6-7, ESV).

Leave a Reply

