Come Fly with Me

There are times it’s better

To call

To those below.

Of course,

I should fly low enough

To hear their cries

And recognize their hurt.

I do not soar

To escape

Reality

But to see it

More clearly,

From a different perspective.

If, however,

I fly too low,

The pain,

The darkness,

The suffocating agony

Overcome me.

I can’t help anyone

Because my wings

Get tangled,

My vision clouded.

So,

As I fly,

I promise to keep watch.

I will do my best

To remember

To call to you

When you can’t even see

The sunlight.

Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ (Galatians 6:2, ESV).

One thought on “Come Fly with Me

  1. Hey Steph!! Love this one. Especially the part about getting ‘tangled’! That’s so true. Thanks for sharing your poems. You’re very talented!!
    Dar

Leave a Reply

