Always Listening

The story of the overseas orphanage

Will stay with me

For a very, very long time.

Rows and rows

Of occupied cribs.

Little ones

With no place to call home.

With no-one to love them

And no-one to respond,

They simply learn to remain quiet.

How eerie!

A room full of babies and toddlers

Does not equal quiet,

Not to this Western mind.

When one of these precious boys

Learned there was someone who loved him,

He let out a devastated cry

As they left.

They couldn’t take him with them,

Not that time.

How heartbreaking!

He had learned there was someone who cared,

And yet,

Their hands were tied.

How he must have rejoiced

When the loving couple

Returned and took him home,

His cries never to be ignored again.

And then there’s me.

I soar

And too often forget

To thank the One who gave me wings.

I flounder

And forget to call out

To the Only One who gives lift to these wings.

I see others in need

And only mention those needs in passing

To the One who has infinite resources.

No law but His own governs Him.

He is always attentive to my cry,

Always able to meet my every need

And the needs of others.

I must never take for granted

Or forget

The Joy Giver,

The God who is always listening

For my singing heart

Or my cries for help.

For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God…(Romans 8:14-16, ESV)

Leave a Reply

