Something was Missing

Yesterday I received the most amazing email.

After meeting with a young couple

Who are expecting their first baby,

I was asked to join

Their birth team.

As a doula-in-training,

I am learning a lot

And look forward to assisting

Many couples

As they welcome their little ones.

However,

Receiving a message that states

“Before you joined the team,

I felt something was missing”

Was definitely one of the most humbling,

One of the most wondrous moments

Ever!

It got me to thinking…

How often am I

The Missing Something

In someone else’s life?

As I’ve let the currents

Carry me,

Too often I did so

Focused only on

Where I wanted to go,

Seeking to fill the Missing Somethings

In my own life.

Too often it wasn’t about

“How can I bless others?”

It was more like

“How can they bless me?”

Yuck!

I know I’ve missed

Countless opportunities.

But

Today is a new day.

As I take to the skies,

May I scout out opportunities

To bless

And thereby,

More importantly

Than becoming

That Missing Something,

Direct others

To the One

Who will provide all the Missing Somethings.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well (Matthew 6:33, ESV).

2 thoughts on “Something was Missing

Leave a Reply

