Watch Them Fly

There is something more incredible

Than taking to the skies.

When I watch my children,

Now grown,

Spread their wings,

I am breathless,

Awestruck,

Amazed!

They begin to discover

Their individual flight plans.

They take wing.

They make discoveries

None of us dreamed of,

And I rejoice.

Sometimes

I have the privilege of sending them

In the right direction

Or being a small part in the process.

At other times,

I have nothing to do with it.

Those times are equally,

If not more,

Exciting.

The One who charts my path,

Charts theirs.

He loves them

Even more than I do.

That,

Plus the fact that He sees

All variables,

And has their very best in mind,

Gives me peace.

I can become excited

As their lives unfold,

Even if those plans

Mean they will fly

Far from home.

I will watch them fly

And rejoice.

Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward (Psalm 127:3, ESV).

Leave a Reply

