Why I Fly

Do I deserve my wings

More than the next person?

Have I been called

To fly higher than my neighbour,

My friend,

My child?

Do I soar through clear skies

Because I don’t deserve to be tethered,

Earthbound,

Crushed by darkness?

Believe me,

If you knew me,

Really knew me,

You would realize that is not the case.

Although I’ve flown above the clouds,

Unhindered

And free,

I am beginning

(After almost half a century)

To realize

Why.

Why do I fly?

Why am I allowed to fly?

Why am I called to fly?

It’s you,

My friend.

I soar

So I can call you to do the same.

I soar

So I can ignite your imagination.

I soar

So I can see clearly where I am needed most.

So,

I apologize in advance for those times

Yet to come

When I will get so enraptured with the view

That I forget

There is a reason

Why I fly.

Today

I commit

(Maybe for the first time, actually)

To fly for you.

You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself (Luke 10:27, ESV).

Leave a Reply

