Flying Forward

It struck me just this morning,

Birds fly forwards.

Well, d’uh,

You might be thinking.

But I realized,

That’s what I have to do.

Too often,

I feel like I’m flying in circles,

Getting nowhere.

I may have several places

I want to see,

Numerous tasks

I want to accomplish.

However,

At any given moment,

I can only fly

Focused on a single destination.

I have to fly

In a straight line.

I have to stay

In one place

As long as I need to

In order to accomplish

All I should.

And then I’m off.

Another straight line.

Another destination.

Another opportunity.

May I continue,

Day by day,

Moment by moment,

To fly forward.

…I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:13-14, ESV).

3 thoughts on “Flying Forward

Leave a Reply

