My Motivation

When my wings lift me

Heavenward,

I don’t give much thought

To who’s watching.

When I rejoice

As the currents lift me,

I’m not thinking

About who is looking on.

(I find when I’m preoccupied with such things

I lose focus…and altitude.)

I don’t really know

If my flight

Intrigues others

Or

If they question how I can fly

So high.

If that becomes my motivation,

The reason I fly,

My wings don’t work,

I can’t get off the ground.

But

When I hear my flight

Has been an encouragement

To someone,

When I learn it has inspired them

To fly higher,

I am humbled.

I reach new heights.

Theoretically,

The higher I fly,

The more people

Who will see me

And

The more people

Who will want to

Catch a glimpse of the view

From on high.

…set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity… (1 Timothy 4:12, ESV)

Leave a Reply

