An Unusual Flock

I find it amazing

Who I meet

As I soar.

If I take the time to

Look around

And take a good look

At my fellow flyers,

I will be awestruck

At who shares

The skies…

And

At who doesn’t.

We really are

An Unusual Flock.

Sadly,

Like everyone else,

I judge.

I may not use the criteria

Others use,

But

I won’t lie and say

I’m never surprised.

Thankfully,

I’ve learned,

For the most part,

To thrill

When I see another

Soaring

High above

That which keeps

So many ensnared.

Sadly,

There are others

Who aren’t even aware

Of those snares,

Those I thought

Had it all

Figured out.

As I soar

And rejoice,

May I reach out

To those who don’t.

This post was inspired by Michael Bull Roberts, a fellow member of this “unusual flock.”

Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy (1 Peter 2:10, ESV).

Leave a Reply

