Dangerous Skies

Last night I dreamed

I was teaching those

Far from home

To fly.

It wasn’t like it is here,

The odd funny look,

Even an occasional verbal debate.

No,

In my dream,

The risks were far greater.

My safety.

My life.

And then

I awoke.

I’ll admit I’m glad

I fly where I do.

But my dream

Accomplished at least

One thing.

I have a renewed appreciation

For those who fly

In dangerous skies.

For those who know

There are snares

At every turn

And yet refuse

To return

To safer skies.

Thank you for the example

You set.

Thank you for the challenges

You willingly face.

Thank you that you value

Others

More than your own comfort

And safety.

Thank you for listening

To the One

Who calls us all

To fly,

Who call us all

To teach others

To do the same.

If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it (Luke 9:23-24, ESV).

Leave a Reply

