The Benefit of Heavy Wings

Heal the wounds

But

Leave the scars.

These lyrics from

Yesterday’s special music

Are lovely.

But

I don’t always recognize

How applicable

Something is

Until I’m in

A different place.

This morning

My wings were heavy,

My enthusiasm lacking,

My motivation…

Zilch.

And then

I got to thinking.

Could an eagle soar

With hummingbird wings?

Bizarre image,

Isn’t it?

What lifts

That magnificent bird

To lofty heights?

Relatively heavy wings.

(Compared to those

Of a hummingbird at least.)

So

Today

I will look at that which could

Weigh me down

As the very thing

That will raise me up.

I will soar

Healed yet scarred,

Embracing

The benefit of heavy wings.

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice (Philippians 4:4, ESV) (emphasis mine).

Leave a Reply

