Flying Against the Current

It isn’t always

Prudent

To ride the current.

There are days

That current

Carries me exactly

Where I’m supposed to be.

The air is clear,

As is my perspective.

There are other days

I feel as if the current

Is carrying me along

And I’m uncertain

If I like the direction

I’m headed.

Sometimes

I’m carried to

Wonderful new adventures.

And

That’s amazing!

There are other times

When the current

Becomes

A powerful wind.

At first,

It merely breaks off

Small branches

And

Gets dust in my eyes.

“This isn’t so bad.”

And I continue on.

Before I know it,

The wind picks up.

Little by little,

It becomes

Increasingly destructive.

This particular wind

Will not dissipate on

Its own.

It will carry me

Where I have no business going.

It will become

A devastating hurricane.

Long before that,

I must make a difficult decision.

I must turn into the wind

And fly for all I’m worth.

At those times,

I must fly against the current.

Today

May I know

When to drift along

And when

To fly,

Really fly.

…let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts; let him return to the LORD, that he may have compassion on him, and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts (Isaiah 55:7-9, ESV).

One thought on “Flying Against the Current

  1. Wow Hun,

    That’s pretty much how I have been feeling over the last couple of month. I enjoyed that. Thanks

Leave a Reply

