Flitting, Flapping, Soaring

I’ve seen many

Little white butterflies

That flit no more

Than a few inches

Off the ground

Over a very limited area.

I’ve seen countless

Varieties of birds

That fly farther and higher

But only move forward

As they flap their wings.

I’ve seen relatively few

Magnificent flyers

Who ride the currents

And soar

High above

The Flitters and the Flappers.

When I could be soaring,

I often restrict my gaze

And get caught up

Flitting from place to place,

Task to task.

There are other days

My gaze extends.

I make progress

But

I have to flap incessantly

To make even

Minimal headway.

Today

I will turn my gaze heavenward.

I will call on the Giver of Wings

And ask Him

To give me

An expanded perspective.

Today

I will play among the clouds

As an example

Of what is possible

When we turn our backs

On flitting

And flapping.

Today,

By grace,

I’ll soar.

But God, being rich in mercy…raised us up with him [Jesus] and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace… (Ephesians 2:4-7, ESV)

Leave a Reply

