Less than Perfect

I admit

I like to fly high enough

That I can’t see

The dark corners

Of reality.

Sometimes, however,

That darkness is thrust

Into my field of vision.

This weekend

I caught a glimpse

Of two extremes.

The first…

New life.

An eight-day-old bundle

Of hope and potential.

The world can be

A very bright place.

Yet,

In contrast,

I was reminded

Of the dark places

In our hearts

And in our world.

I’m all for modern technology.

(I am, after all,

Sending my ponderings

Into the void

That is cyberspace.)

However,

Living in a day and age

When Mom and Dad

Can pay for testing

To determine

If their unborn child

Is deserving of life

Scares me silly.

So

I praise the Giver of Life

And

I beg Him

For the lives

Of those who are decreed

Less than Perfect.

Then children were brought to him that he might lay his hands on them and pray. The disciples rebuked the people, but Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.” And he laid his hands on them…(Matthew 19:13-15)

Leave a Reply

