I’m a Chicken

I would much rather see myself

As an eagle.

Flying high above the storm clouds.

Inspiring onlookers.

A butterfly…

Beautiful.

Delicate.

Yet with surprising strength.

A bee…

Flying farther and farther afield

In search of what will nourish

Those who rely on me.

But

A chicken?

Definitely not.

No way.

I don’t think so.

But

That’s what I am.

I want to spread my wings

And gather friends and family

To myself.

To protect them.

To assure them they are loved.

To insulate them from pain.

The Creator of the eagle,

The butterfly,

And the bee

Chose to align Himself

With the hen.

So, I guess it’s not all that bad,

When all is said and done,

To be a chicken.

How often would I have gathered your children together as a hen gathers her brood under her wings, and you would not! (Luke 13:34, ESV)

Leave a Reply

