Fly Together Always

I know me

And it’s amazing

That such an incredible man

Would choose to spend

The last 10,225 days

As my husband.

Twenty-eight years ago tomorrow,

Dave promised to love me

As Christ loved the church.

Can I tell you a secret?

Back then,

I thought it was a wonderful sentiment.

But I really didn’t see how it was possible.

Well,

I was wrong.

The One who gave wings to our hearts

Gave him the strength

To do just that.

Trust me when I say

There were times…many times

I was most unlovable.

I’m incredibly thankful

The love he has for me

Is not dependent on

How deserving I am.

Dave has taught me

What it means

To love someone so much

You set aside your own

Dreams of flight

For the purpose of

Giving the other person wings.

I guarantee

No matter how long

We fly together,

I will never stop marvelling

At such a love.

I will forever be in awe

That we can fly together

Always!

Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her (Ephesians 5:25, ESV).

2 thoughts on “Fly Together Always

Leave a Reply

