Flying Oblivious

The other day

I saw a butterfly

Flitting back and forth

In traffic.

Thankfully, I didn’t hit it.

Instantly I realized

That butterfly and I

Are very much alike.

It was flying

Oblivious to the dangers

That surrounded it.

Whether

Within its line of sight

Or not,

Any vehicle

Could have instantly

Meant the end

Of such a delicate creature.

How often do I do the same?

How often do I fly along

Totally oblivious

To the dangers around me?

Unlike the butterfly,

I have the wisdom

To discern the risks.

Sometimes

I choose not to see.

Sometimes

I am completely unaware.

Today

May I fly where I should,

Careful

To avoid “the traffic”

That could seriously cripple

Or end

My flight.

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him (James 1:5, ESV).

Leave a Reply

