Illusion of Flying

I can neglect

The Instruction Manual

And still fly.

I can give

The Flight Instructor

Only a passing nod

And still soar

To unfathomable heights.

My memory

Of the key elements of flight

Will get me by.

I can perform

Amazing acrobatics

And reach as-of-yet

Unexplored destinations

While ignoring

The carefully laid out route.

Does that all sound

As ridiculous to you

As it does to me?

I confess

It is too often

My reality.

At best,

I’m flying in a fog.

At worst,

I haven’t even

Left the ground.

If I know

What I need to do

And don’t do it,

I cannot reach

Breathtaking heights

Or

Show others

How to fly.

Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins (James 4:17, NIV).

2 thoughts on “Illusion of Flying

  1. When we soar above illusion, self-deception the sky becomes clear and we know peace. Thank you and love.

Leave a Reply

