No-Fly Zone

I was doing the dishes last night

And flew dangerously close

To the place

I used to go.

Things are piling up.

The classic

Too much to do

Too little time.

Anxiety.

Discontentment.

Irritability.

Resentment.

In the past,

These have been symptoms

Of a deadly reality

Known as anger.

It got hold of me

When I was very young.

It has done a lot of damage

Over the years.

To me.

To the people I love.

It was like a poison

Eating away at my insides.

It bubbled up

Until it overflowed

Like a deadly, acidic lava flow.

When it had hold of me,

I couldn’t fly.

I couldn’t teach others to fly.

And worse

I snatched them from the sky

When they were just learning to fly.

So NO!

Never again do I want to enter

The No-Fly Zone.

The Creator delivered me.

The Creator sustains me.

The Creator grants me wisdom

To see

When I fly too close.

Will things remain undone?

Yes.

Will I become overwhelmed at times?

Probably.

Will I ever go back?

By grace,

The answer is

ABSOLUTELY NOT!

Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires (James 1:19-20, NIV).

2 thoughts on “No-Fly Zone

  1. No Fly Zone– great way to designate those feelings that used to poison me too. Nope. Not gonna go there again. But if we’re not careful, we will. Thanks for the reminder to be vigilant!

Leave a Reply

