The Simple Life

I’m facing a new challenge

Or perhaps

I’m simply acknowledging

An ancient one.

I’m feeling

An increasingly persistent tug

To lay aside

What weighs me down,

What keeps me earthbound.

The pursuit of More

Never satisfies.

I know that.

I know that.

I know that.

But

Do I?

What would I do

If I won the lottery

Or inherited a huge sum of money?

Honestly,

I have a whole list of responses.

Most of them 100 percent selfish.

So,

Do I really want the Simple Life?

Do I really believe

Earthly riches

Never truly satisfy?

On some level,

Yes!

However,

There is still much work

To be done

In my heart.

Step by step,

As I relinquish

Material possessions,

Crazy agendas,

Excess of all kinds,

I will fly higher

And experience

Greater peace and contentment

Than ever before.

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal (Matthew 6:19-20, ESV).

Leave a Reply

