Get at It!

After re-reading

Tethered by Anxiety,

I realized

I resemble the captive falcon

In another way as well.

I want to soar

Untethered.

I don’t want to be fooled

By the lure of reward

Only to have my flight

Cut short.

But

If I’m completely honest,

I actually find myself

Wanting to pull

The headpiece over my eyes.

Even though

I could give you a list

Of perfectly understandable reasons

Why I’m not soaring.

They amount to very simple truths.

I don’t want to see.

I don’t want to think.

I don’t want to do.

I want to want to.

But,

For the most part,

That’s as far as it goes.

I need focus.

However,

With the headpiece in place,

That’s impossible.

So,

Off it goes!

I must acknowledge

What I have to do.

Decide each task’s priority.

Take wing

And

Get at it!

But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:13-14, ESV).

Leave a Reply

