Tethered by Anxiety

I’ve been breathless

As I’ve soared to

Unbelievable heights.

I’ve been free

As I’ve ridden the currents

High above the earth.

I’ve been amazed

At the scenery

Along the way.

I’ve been surprised

By the destinations

I’ve reached.

I’ve even rejoiced

In difficulty,

Knowing everything

Was in the hands

Of One far greater

Than myself.

I’ve had a taste

Of what it means

To soar with the eagles.

However,

These days I relate more

To another bird of prey.

This one does not fly free.

The falcon,

When trained as a hunter,

Learns by being tethered.

It thinks it’s going to soar,

When,

In reality,

Its flight will come to

An abrupt end

When it reaches the end

Of the rope that keeps it bound.

I set my eyes on the destination.

I spread my wings.

I take to the air.

I fly for a brief moment

And then

SNAP!

My flight has ended.

The rope is not made of leather

But of anxiety.

I’m not used to this.

How I wish the answer

Was easy.

But wait,

I must again consider the falcon.

When is it set free from

Its bonds?

When it learns what it must do.

When it learns never to travel

Too far from home.

When it learns obedience.

Hm,

I’m seeing a connection here.

I must learn what I am to do.

I must stay close to Home.

I must learn obedience…

Over and over and over.

When I finally learn

What I am to accomplish

And

What I am to relinquish,

I will no longer be

Tethered by Anxiety.

…do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:6-7, ESV).

Leave a Reply

