Wings and Anchors

It sounds contradictory.

How can I give

My family

Wings and anchors?

While our second son

Prepared to go to college,

I was told I needed to

Cut the apron strings.

My internal response

To that statement

Was less than godly.

However,

Though the thoughts

Of my child

Moving away

Brought tears to my eyes,

I was excited for him.

(Though I did consider

Putting a poster of a West Jet plane

On my wall

And throwing darts at it.)

That first good-bye

Was two years ago.

I am

Once again

Preparing to send him westward.

I must give him wings

If he is to discover

All the future holds.

But

I must also give him anchors.

He will always be welcome

Here.

He can always be sure

Of my love.

With me,

He is always free

To be himself.

Because of my wings and anchors,

I can offer them to others.

May I do so

Now and always.

Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock (Matthew 7:24-25, NIV).

Leave a Reply

