Abundant Thanks

As I was journalling last night,

I stumbled across

An assuring truth.

I’ve spent the last four days

In a lovely, wooded community,

Free to spend hour after hour

Writing.

There were no other responsibilities beckoning.

What a treat!

Talk about soaring.

I was concerned that I would

Find it difficult to return

To “the real world”.

As so often happens,

It all worked itself out

As I put my concerns

Into words.

Here,

I have found the focus

I need.

This holiday

Has been a gift.

Truly,

My day-to-day life

Overflows with gifts.

My home.

My family.

My friends.

My job.

My writing.

My newest adventure.

And that list

Only scratches the surface.

I now understand

How easy it would be

To abandon reality

To chase a dream

That is nothing more than vapour.

I also understand why God requires

A thankful heart.

It changes everything

When our But Whys?

Become

Abundant Thanks!

For everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving, because it is consecrated by the word of God and prayer (1 Timothy 4:4-5, ESV).

Leave a Reply

