Making Headway

What a week this has been!

I flew at such dizzying heights

It seemed surreal.

And then,

All the air was sucked

From my surroundings.

And

I plummeted to the earth.

Thud!

My mouth actually dropped open.

Wounded,

I stood slowly to my feet.

I began to make plans…

How can I get airborne again?

How can I lift others with me?

In the past,

I would have wanted to take

Immediate action.

That wasn’t possible.

And that’s a good thing.

I committed my plan

To the One with perfect vision.

I thought I knew what He wanted,

But I am slowly realizing

It’s not going to be as easy

As I’d thought.

I’ve had this feeling before…

The pounding of my heart.

The butterflies in my stomach

That felt more like helicopters.

The knowing

That the best course of action

Lay before me,

But I’d prefer the easier one.

And now,

Knowing what I must do,

I have the added challenge

Of waiting.

Timing, they say, is everything.

While I wait,

I will seek to make headway

In all areas.

I will seek to fly,

But not according to my plans,

According to His.

To know wisdom and instruction, to understand words of insight, to receive instruction in wise dealing, in righteousness, justice, and equity; to give prudence to the simple, knowledge and discretion to the youth—Let the wise hear and increase in learning, and the one who understands obtain guidance, to understand a proverb and a saying, the words of the wise and their riddles. The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction (Proverbs 1:2-7, ESV).

Leave a Reply

