More than an Observer

Here I sit

In my hotel.

My husband and daughter

Are off exploring the ROM.

And I am thoroughly enjoying

Watching planes

Land and take off

From the airport

Across the road.

From small propeller planes

To enormous jets.

As fun as it is,

It isn’t the same

As boarding one of those planes

And soaring off to new adventures.

My son headed back to school

Early this morning.

It’s his third year,

And flying is simply

Another form of transportation.

However,

This year will hold

Many new opportunities.

The doors to his future

Will open wider.

While my future

May not include

Jetting off to exciting destinations,

I will go nowhere

If I simply sit on the sidelines

And watch others.

I must become

More than an observer.

What good is it…if someone says he has faith, but does not have works? (James 2:14, ESV)

Leave a Reply

