Free to Fail

Missed opportunities.

Feeling bummed.

Retreating within.

Refusing to accept personal responsibility.

The lies I tell myself…

I’ve failed so often,

I might as well give up.

I succeed in some areas.

Therefore,

I can slack in others.

I’m too busy.

There’s too much to learn.

Just one more missed opportunity

Won’t make that much difference.

I’ll start tomorrow.

It’s a wonder that I ever fly.

The fact that I do

Is because of Grace

Not because I deserve it.

It’s easy to put these thoughts

Out there.

I don’t mind confessing

My shortcomings.

It’s what comes next…

That’s the hard part.

In order to make real progress,

I must do more.

My heart must be broken

For those who need to hear.

I must acknowledge Truth.

I must share what I know

Even if people don’t want to hear.

I must be willing

To stumble and fail

As I’m being transformed.

I’ll mess up sometimes.

That’s OK.

I’m free to fail.

But if I don’t try…

Well,

That is most certainly

Not OK.

mourn and weep. Let your laughter be turned to mourning and your joy to gloom. Humble youselves before the Lord, and he will exalt you (James 4:9-10, ESV).

One thought on “Free to Fail

Leave a Reply

