Hanging On

Remember that precipice

I talked about?

Instead of soaring right now,

I kinda feel like I’m hanging on

By my fingertips.

Instead of diving off the cliff,

I slipped off.

I was shoved over the edge

By countless commitments.

Every one of them is important.

But

If I am to soar,

I must re-evaluate.

What stays?

What goes?

How do I put together

A reasonable schedule

And stick to it?

How do I balance

Organization and flexibility?

Well,

For now,

That will all have to wait.

I have a laundry to start

And a pillow calling my name.

Instead of hanging on

By a thread,

I think I’ll grab a fist-full

Of helium-filled balloons

And float off to Dreamland.

And then,

Come the new day,

I’ll fly over

The Landscape of Opportunities

To get a fresh and clearer view.

“If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him” (James 1:5, NIV).

Leave a Reply

