Ground Tied

“I give up.”

Three tiny words.

One life-destroying attitude.

And talk about

Clipping your own wings.

The same is true

At work,

At home,

At church,

Wherever I find myself.

If I don’t do

What I know I should

I won’t fly.

That cloud hanging over my head…

Well, d’uh!

It’s only over my head

Because I haven’t spread my wings

And taken to the sky.

I know how.

I’ve known that for years.

And yet,

Here I sit,

Ground-tied in the muck.

(Horses that are ground-tied

Are not truly anchored

Where they stand;

They just think they are.)

So,

Note to self…

I will not give up.

I will not give up.

I WILL NOT GIVE UP!

Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins (James 4:17, NIV).

Leave a Reply

