Holding the Tether

If a hot air balloon is never released

From the ropes that anchor it to the ground,

It’s a bad thing.

It will never get airborne.

It will never reach its destination.

On the other hand,

If a child’s balloon is released,

It will merely float away,

Taken wherever the wind blows.

And the child will be devastated.

And then there’s me.

There is a time to be tethered

And a time to sail the currents.

My number one need…

Wisdom.

When do I take the survival knife

And cut the ties?

And when do I hold onto the tether

For all I’m worth?

It can be exciting to ride the wind.

However,

I must exercise caution

Or

I will leave behind others

Before it’s time.

Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him (James 1:4.5, ESV).

Leave a Reply

