Sink or Swim

Sink or swim?

Swim or soar?

Life can drag me down

And anchor me

Far below the surface

Or

I can choose to swim,

To strain for all I’m worth

Until my lungs again

Fill with air.

Then,

I can take strong, deliberate strokes

And propel myself

In the right direction.

However,

There is a third option.

It’s easy to tire

Swimming upstream.

And that’s the only way

To get to my destination.

When the current is too much,

I must leave the river behind.

I must remember my wings.

I must flap

Until the water and debris

Fall away.

I must slowly, steadily

Take to the skies.

There are steps in the process.

Recently,

I have been unwilling or unable

To take those steps.

However,

I don’t want to stay anchored

On the riverbed.

Nor do I want to struggle

To make even a little headway.

I want to soar skyward.

Yes,

I want to reach the heights

For my own well-being.

But I also want to do so

To serve as an example to others,

To help them leave

Their own anchors and debris behind.

…set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity (1 Timothy 4:12, NIV).

4 thoughts on “Sink or Swim

Leave a Reply

