New Heights

Every day

I’m faced with opportunities.

I love it when they come

Wrapped as gifts.

New friends.

New books.

New joy.

Of late

The opportunities

Have been coming

In a different package.

Sorrow.

Confusion.

Resignation.

Although they don’t sound

Appealing,

There is much to learn.

Empathy.

Understanding.

Compassion.

In the past,

I was critical of those

Who did not handle

Similar situations well.

Now I understand

Like never before.

I have much to learn.

However,

Oddly enough,

That which can weigh me down

And keep me earthbound

Is the very thing

That can propel me

To new heights.

pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus (1 Thessalonians 5:17-18, NIV).

One thought on “New Heights

Leave a Reply

