Rest

Tonight

My thoughts are not poetic.

I fill the screen

And then I delete my words.

My thoughts are scattered,

Though I try to reign them in.

I have so much to do.

It’s the same old familiar song.

I feel bad

For whining.

I have so many blessings

For which to be thankful.

It’s wrong that I should flinch,

Even for a minute.

And yet,

Sometimes,

Instead of flying,

I need to sit quietly.

To focus

On the task at hand.

No,

Not what I will do tomorrow

Or next week

Or next year.

Not even what I will do

In the next few moments

Should distract me.

I have countless opportunities.

I must make the most

Of each one.

Among those opportunities

Is the chance

To regenerate.

So,

For now,

I will rest in the knowledge

That the skies

Will still be there tomorrow,

As will the fresh perspective

I’ll gain

When I once again

Spread my wings

And fly.

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken (Psalm 62:1-2, NIV).

2 thoughts on “Rest

Leave a Reply

