The Day

Funny

How someone can say something

Heartfelt and well-intentioned

And leave me

Feeling deflated.

Like a tire with a slow leak

Or a balloon with a tiny hole.

True,

There are many other factors

That contribute to my feelings.

However,

I sit here wishing

Today wasn’t the Day.

Ever have some place

You knew you had to go

But didn’t want to?

I used to feel that way

When I’d been home from school

For a while.

Of course,

That was a zillion years ago.

Well,

It’s time to take a deep breath

And face my feelings head on.

After all,

I am a grown-up.

And more importantly,

It’s the right thing to do.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

