Genuine Faith

What keeps me aloft?

Is it those things

That make my heart soar?

I’m thankful for them,

But no,

That’s not it.

I can fly

With a heavy heart.

But to truly soar

I need faith.

Not simply a list of truths

I say a believe.

Genuine faith,

Life-changing faith,

Will affect everything

I say, do and think.

My son

Had an interesting take

On a school assignment.

When asked to write a paper

On what he believed,

He examined his life

He used that as evidence

Of what was truly in

His heart and mind.

Today I was struck

By my own life.

What does my day-to-day

Really say about me?

I must be willing to examine

Myself closely.

When my actions match up

With what I say I believe,

Then and only then,

Will I truly fly.

For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also (James 2:26, KJV).

Leave a Reply

