De-icer

I sat watching

As my son’s plane

Became visible

In the brightening sky.

He had already boarded.

The scheduled time for departure

Had come and gone.

But there they sat.

And a good thing, too.

The plane was being

De-iced.

I’m no aeronautical expert,

But I know

Ice on the wings

Is a bad thing,

A dangerous thing.

Sometimes circumstances

“Ice our wings.”

It’s nobody’s fault.

It just happens.

At other times,

It seems

People throw

Buckets of water

At us.

The water freezes

And

We’re grounded.

Whichever is the case,

I need to make sure

My wings are free of ice

Before I try to fly.

I refuse to stay grounded

Until spring comes.

I can’t sit around waiting

For those who threw water

To come to my rescue.

It’s up to me to do

The right thing.

The warmth that comes

From a life

Of love and compassion

Will de-ice not only my wings,

But others’ as well.

Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you (Luke 6:27-28, NIV).

One thought on “De-icer

Leave a Reply

