Sounds of Spring

Winter fast approaches.

Though we haven’t had snow,

There has been frost

On the car windows

A number of mornings.

However,

I sit here

Thinking how much it

Sounds like spring.

My hubby hasn’t taken down

The remains of our clematis yet.

Some birds have decided

They’re going to winter there.

(I wonder if we can leave part of it up.)

This isn’t the time of year

I expect to hear

Birds chirping.

It makes me think

Of the season of new life

And growing warmth.

When I was considering

What to write,

It struck me.

I want to be like those birds.

Instead of reminding people

Of the cold, dark days of winter,

I want to remind them

Of the lightheartedness

Of spring.

I want to bring

Joy and excitement,

Warmth and hope

To others.

That will be my goal.

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers (Galatians 6:9-10, NIV).

Leave a Reply

