De-clutter

Fall is my favourite

Time of year.

The Christmas season

Is my hubby’s.

He loves the tree, the lights,

All the decorations.

I do, too,

But it means work.

I refuse to put up decorations

Around clutter.

So, I’ve already started to prepare.

We have two bookshelves

In the only corner

For our tree.

Last night,

I packed up nine,

Yes nine,

Bankers’ boxes.

The more I tidy and organize,

The more I want to

Stick with it.

I do love the feeling that comes

When things start to get organized.

I feel lighter,

More able to fly.

So,

This tidying up will continue

And I will once again

Make plans to keep it that way.

But I know without diligence,

After the holidays,

The clutter will creep back…

A purse tossed here,

A stack of paperwork there…

Insignificant really.

However,

When it comes to my life,

I must be more vigilant.

I often allow my schedule to become

Far too crowded.

If I don’t have time to do

The things I should,

I must set to de-cluttering.

When I get my priorities straight,

Then,

I will truly soar.

Happy Flying, All!

…one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:13-14, NIV).

Leave a Reply

