The Grinch

I admit it:

I have very fond memories

Of the original

How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

A number of years ago,

I got it as a present.

Yes, a 40-something-year-old

Can squeal

When she receives a kids’ movie.

I gave three dear friends

Their Christmas gifts

When they came to visit

This past weekend.

“When I think of you at Christmas…”

Says the card with

A certain fake Santy Claus

On the front,

“My heart grows three sizes.”

Well,

That’s what happens

When I dwell on the fact

That some pretty incredible people

Call me friend…

Or when I think,

“Wow! I really encouraged this or that person.”

Why is it so amazing?

Because I know myself.

I was very much like

The unconverted grinch.

Trust me,

That person

Would not make a good friend.

She could not encourage anyone.

It wasn’t a bunch of singing Who’s

That changed my heart.

It was,

However,

One who chooses to call me friend.

You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you (John 15:14-15, NIV).

One thought on “The Grinch

Leave a Reply

