Happiness

Pursue whatever makes you happy.

Turn your back on those who don’t.

If you don’t look out for yourself,

No-one will.

It’s easy for me to encounter

Ideas like these

And criticize.

However,

I’ve learned from years of experience,

If I have an immediate compulsion

To wag my finger

In someone else’s direction,

I best look at myself

HARD!

I’m a fan of happy.

I’ve been known to be

Positively giddy

At times.

Do I want to surround myself

With people who love me

And give me wings?

Most definitely.

Do I look out for myself

And do what I enjoy,

Sometimes at the expense of others?

I’m not excited to admit it,

But of course,

The answer is yes.

If I want to soar

Above my own selfishness

And truly reach the Heights,

I must make some hard choices.

I must do the right thing,

Even if it doesn’t make me happy.

I must be kind and loving

To all,

Not just my family

And closest friends.

I must care for others

Even when it is

Inconvenient.

It won’t be easy,

But when I do,

I will fly

Higher than ever.

But to you who are listening I say: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you (Luke 6, 27, 28, NIV).

Leave a Reply

