It’s Here!

Like a gift

Under the Christmas tree.

Hidden from view.

All shiny and enticing.

What’s inside?

I may have my suspicions,

But I don’t really know.

The year lies ahead…

A gift.

And I do know one thing

That’s inside the box.

My wings.

Whether the year holds

Joy or sorrow.

Health or illness.

Material possessions or poverty.

Each is an opportunity.

For most of us…

Definitely for me…

We soar highest when things

Are going well.

I’ve seen incredible people

Who stay aloft

When the going gets rough.

When they’re buffeted.

When the updrafts and downdrafts

Threaten.

I know it’s possible.

I also know

The One who is faithful

At all times.

So, here’s to the new year.

Bring it on, 2011.

In the council of the holy ones God is greatly feared; he is more awesome than all who surround him. Who is like you, LORD God Almighty? You, LORD, are mighty, and your faithfulness surrounds you. You rule over the surging sea; when its waves mount up, you still them (Psalm 89:7-9, NIV).

Leave a Reply

