Directed Flight

Clear skies.

Detailed flight plans.

Complete certainty.

Breathtaking view.

Much of my flight

Is like this.

And I love it.

However,

At times,

It is inevitable

That I must fly

At night

Or

During a storm.

And then what?

The flight plan?

Seemingly incomplete.

Trusting what I see ahead

And around me?

Not in the complete blackness

Of a moonless night.

Going on instincts?

Not with

The emotional ups and downs.

I’m not sure I’m going

In the right direction.

Never mind keeping my eyes

On the horizon.

But…

There is always

The Flight Instruction Manual

And

The promised guidance

From my Flight Instructor.

I’m never alone.

I’m never without direction.

May your skies be clear.

And when they’re not,

May you know the certainty

Of directed flight.

If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind (James 1:5-6, NIV).

2 thoughts on “Directed Flight

  1. beautiful writing…

    How are you? I placed your link under Thursday Poets Rally week 37 fresh poets to explore, you may get some visits from our participants…

    Want to make more poetic friends? You have to become a participant and stay active with fellow poets. Join Us Now, it is free and fun!

    Please leave your link under my agreement post when you are ready…Poetry Awards are assigned upon completion…Hope to see you in…

    Your poetry rocks!
    Keep Writing, Happy 2011!
    xx

Leave a Reply

