No Coincidence

No matter how many times

It happens,

I’m always amazed

When a call or an email arrives

At just the right moment.

It isn’t like I receive

An earth-shattering epiphany.

More often than not,

I simply think of someone

And take the time

To get in touch.

It happened again

This week.

I was able to reach over

Thousands of miles

To a dear friend.

I do not believe in coincidence.

Our contact was

Meant to be.

She was able to share

Something very personal.

Whenever that happens,

It humbles me.

While I would rather

Sit and have tea,

This connection

Is what we have for now.

So,

May I never minimize

What a simple

I’m thinking of you

Can mean to someone

When it wings its way

Much farther than

My flight takes me.

In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus:  Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage; rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant…(Philippians 2:5-7, NIV).

Leave a Reply

