A Long Forgotten Weight

A weight that holds me down.

A weight that I haven’t addressed

In some time.

A weight that was unmistakeable

Years ago.

I recently encountered that weight

Face-to-face

Yet again.

Passing judgment.

It’s so easy.

And it can be

So very destructive.

From a simple thought:

“What was she thinking?”

When I see someone wearing

An outfit I dislike…

To

“Don’t you get it?”

When someone says something

That causes the hairs on my neck

To stand on end…

To

“How can he expect others

To listen to what he has to say

When he’s doing that?”

I’m not talking about absolutes–

I believe in them.

But I am talking about

That sense of superiority

That often leads to

These thoughts

And others like them.

And that is a weight

That has the potential

To forever hold me back

And keep me down.

The fibres of the net

Used to be thick and obvious.

I didn’t care about judgment.

I had an opinion

About everything

And it didn’t particularly

Bother me.

Now I know better.

But judgment is judgment.

If the net is made of invisible fibres

And catches me off guard,

It’s no excuse.

I must untangle my wings

If I want to fly…

And help others do the same.

Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? (Matthew 7:1-3, NIV)

Leave a Reply

