Purposeful Flight

I’ve been coasting recently.

Riding the currents.

Going where the breezes

Carried me.

And that’s OK

For a while.

But now it’s time to plan.

Time to focus on the horizon.

Time to flap my wings.

Sometimes the currents

Will propel me forward.

Tailwinds are wonderful.

Sometimes,

I’ll catch a glimpse

Of something to my left or right

And pursue it.

Sometimes,

A slight breeze will push me off course.

And then there will be times

I’ll encounter a full-on headwind.

In any case,

I may lose sight of the horizon.

When I know for certain

I’m going in the right direction,

I must not let anything stop me.

As I said yesterday,

Course corrections are allowed.

There will be layovers

And destinations

I currently know nothing about.

All of that is fine.

But for now,

I will fly forward

And leave

All the What Ifs?

For another day.

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:12-14, NIV).

Leave a Reply

