The Next Step

Blank computer screens

Don’t make my heart soar.

They just sit there,

Waiting for words and images.

New, pristine journals

Are almost as bad.

They taunt me,

Demanding a perfection

I am unable of providing.

And so,

I rebel.

Just type.

Just write.

Maybe something will come.

Something worth learning.

Something worth sharing.

And that’s how it is

With life.

One foot in front of the other.

Will the next step lift me?

Will I find

My heart…

My self…

Getting lighter

And taking to the skies?

Will I feel

As if I’ve stepped

Off a cliff,

Making flight a necessity?

The blank page

Cannot remain blank.

The next step

Must be taken.

Fly, my friends

And I will do the same.

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you (Psalm 32:8, ESV).

One thought on “The Next Step

Leave a Reply

