My Tribute

Today,

I step aside.

I choose to hide

In the shadows.

Today,

I want to honour

Four amazing women.

One,

Strong and brave,

Who brought

A new little life

Into the world.

Three others,

Strong and brave,

Who assisted her.

Courage.

Wisdom.

Knowledge.

Perseverence.

Diligence.

Compassion.

Tenacity.

Commitment.

There are

Not enough adjectives

To pay tribute.

Thank you

For allowing me

To be part of it.

I can’t imagine

The wonder

Of witnessing birth

Will ever cease

To overwhelm.

Nor can I imagine

Witnessing

Those involved

And not marvelling

At the part

They play.

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me” (Mark 10:14, NIV).

Leave a Reply

